related stories
Abu Dhabi GP 2013 the 'biggest & best yet'...officiallySights, sounds and speed of Abu Dhabi Grand Prix 2013
score centre
Formula 1MotoGPNascarLive F1 RaceCast

The 2014 Formula One season-ending race in Abu Dhabi is set to offer more drama than ever before after the governing body announced a series of changes aimed at making the sport more competitive and crowd-pleasing.

These include awarding double points for the final Grand Prix of the season, which next year takes place in the UAE capital on November 23, and a numbers identification system for drivers which they will retain throughout their career.

There was also an agreement reached to bring in a long-discussed budget cap from the 2015 season although the final details of this have yet to be decided.

The decision to award double points, counting towards the drivers' and constructors' championships, at the final race of the season was made "to maximise focus on the championship until the end of the campaign", according to a statement from the International Automobile Federation (FIA) after the meeting of its strategy group.

The move reduces the possibility of a championship being settled before the final race by increasing the number of points available to a driver from 25 to 50.

Two of the last four seasons have been settled with a number of races still remaining - Red Bull's Sebastian Vettel won with five races to go in 2011 and with four left in 2013.

For the new numbers system, drivers will be able to choose any number they want from 2 to 99 and they will retain that number for the duration of their careers.

The exception will be the number one, which will be awarded to the reigning world champion unless he opts to keep his original number.

The decision on a costs cap has been seen as much needed as costs have been spiralling out of control over the past few years.

A statement from the FIA read: "The principle of a global cost cap has been adopted. The limit will be applied from January 2015.

"A working group will be established within the coming days comprising the FIA, representatives of the commercial rights holder (Bernie Ecclestone) and Team representatives.

"The objective of the working group will be to have regulations approved by the end of June 2014."


March 16: Australia (Melbourne)
March 30: Malaysia (Sepang)
April 6: Bahrain (Sakhir)
April 20: China (Shanghai)
May 11: Spain (Barcelona)
May 25: Monaco (Monte Carlo)
June 8: Canada (Montreal)
June 22: Austria (Red Bull Ring)
July 6: Great Britain (Silverstone)
July 20: Germany (Hockenheim)
July 27: Hungary (Budapest)
August 24: Belgium (Spa-Francorchamps)
September 7: Italy (Monza)
September 21: Singapore (Marina Bay)
October 5: Japan (Suzuka)
October 12: Russia (Sochi)
November 2: United States (Austin)
November 9: Brazil (Interlagos, Sao Paulo)
November 23: Abu Dhabi (Yas Marina)


For breaking news, follow us on @Sport_360 or find us on Facebook.