score centre

Pack2Go Packers used a dizzying array of fastbreak plays and stonewall defence in the third period to send Isisan packing, 70-62, in the Class C Division of the Kabayan Basketball Association (KBA)-Philippine Supermarket Cup at the Karate Club Gym in Jumeirah, Dubai yesterday.

The teams stayed close throughout the first two quarters with Pack2Go enjoying only a slim advantage, 41-37, at the end of the first half.

After the half time break, Pack2Go acting coach Eddie Peregrino instructed his boys to step on the gas. The Packers responded with 12-0 blast and Pack2Go erected a wide 16-point lead, 53-37, with still six minutes left in the third period.

Despite their height advantage, Isisan never recovered from the deficit and the nearest that they could close the gap was at eight points after Pack2Go’s second stringers were sent in.

The first five players of Pack2Go returned on the floor in the fourth quarter as they cruised to a comfortable win at the end for their third consecutive victory in the tournament.

Marzan Santos led all scorers with 23 points; followed by Kelly Montilla and Donn Santos with 11 markers each. Raymond Gumila had nine points while MJ Paderon scored only four points but was remarkable in handling the ball and setting the offensive game of Pack2Go with his 12 assists and fastbreak plays.

“Our team lacks ceiling but we are fast. We will still continue to develop on our running game to set our fluid offence and be more unrelenting on our defence to carry on with our winning streak,” Pack2Go assistant coach Darwin Gumila told Sport360°.

Isisan forward Scott Marcos admitted that they should have not kept pace with the running game of Pack2Go. “We had the height advantage but we didn’t play with our post up game,” Marcos said.

Elsewhere, Armada got back from a disappointing loss with a 69-50 win over Gideki and Miyaki dominated Cansco, 80-71.


Pack2Go 70 – Marzan Santos 23; Kelly Montilla 11; Donn Santos 11; Raymond Gumila 9; Bowie Salazar 5; MJ Paderon 4; John Paul Novelo 4; Lloyd Paule 3

Isisan 62 – Rommel de Padua 22; Lakay Cardines 12; Rico Regalado 12; Jonathan Morales 6; Scott Marcos 4; Archie Bondoc 4; Arman Manio 2